Book Review : Before I Fall

Image

 

Author: Lauren Oliver
Language: English
Genre: Young Adult
Publication date: February 14, 2010
Media type: Hardbound
Pages: 496
POV: 1st Person

Blurb: Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last. Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

 My Say: I had anticipated reading this book for quite a while – because, death, duh.  How cool would it be to read a plot where you relive the day you die over and over again till you do the right thing? However the first two chapters did not leave me asking for more. On the contrary I really disliked Sam’s character. Her snobbish, I’m-too-good-for-anyone attitude hit me in the head as ridiculous to read. In the proceeding chapters, I saw Sam grow as a person, even if that meant reading about her living her death day, again and again, seven times over. By the end of the book, it is clear that Sam on the 1st page and Sam Kingston on the last page were two different people. For a matter, I actually liked this improvement she brought in herself. It is rather refreshing to read about the amendments one can bring about in their personality. 
It portrays salvation and sacrifice and redeeming yourself in order to get away from the loophole that causes you to live your D-day on constant rewind.
Another thing that I liked (and realized later) was how the author incorporated the 5 psychological stages of dying – Denial. Anger. Bargaining. Grief. Acceptance. into the story.
I was really hoping *spoiler* she wouldn’t die. But who am I kidding? This concept was based on death. I think it gives you a lot to think on, basically, and if you care to stick around this book is a really good read.
AND the fact I think Kent McFuller is super cute. (And fictional, but shush.)

I will rate this book a : 3 1/2 out of 5

Other comments: The rights of this book have been bought for a movie production back in 2010. It was also nominated ‘Best Young Adult Paranormal/Fantasy Novel’ and has been stated to be ‘Unexpectedly rich.’

“Maybe dying a few times messes with your hormones or something. I kind of like it.”

Ha! So that’s it!
I know I haven’t been posting much lately.
Trust me, exam weeks are no fun.
Was my review good? Tell me!
Thanks!

-Vee

One thought on “Book Review : Before I Fall

Leave a Reply

