Rated A for Adolescents.

the-following-blog-post-is-rated-r

Hello there. As you can read the sign^ the following post is meant only for those above the age of 18. Others wishing to read should do so under adult supervision.
Oh. Okay. I was just kidding. All this comes from a girl who’s running her sixteenth year.

Restricted viewing. Rated Adult.
What’s up with all this, Vee?

I was truly hyped up when I found out that my favorite novel was turning into a movie! I jumped and screamed and rolled over my back on the floor and- Uhm, yeah you get the picture.
And this is what happens to entire fandom once they find out the book’s becoming a movie. You begin to wonder whether the cast will be alright? Will they stick to the book? Will they be up to the mark and to your expectations? Will they be able to capture every essence, emotion and detail that you’ve treasured?

And as if all these questions didn’t drive me up the wall enough. I had yet, another one – Will I be allowed to view the movie?

I understand rating movies such as ‘We’re the Miller’s’ as A.
I don’t much get the sense in rating movies such as ‘The Mortal Instruments’ as Restricted though.
I mean, I take to read this book, give it a shot, maybe even like the story. Not a bit, but a lot. I read the sequels, die with the end of each novel, console myself in the corner of my room, saying it’s not a trilogy, but a thousandoligy, and it’s not the end, just like Harry’s never really going back to Privet Drive, and will be back at Hogwarts in no time. And I believe so.
Because, yes I’m a bookie.
I hear the news that, the book, the very same book I love, is turning into a movie and I’m ecstatic, because it’s like renewing a piece of my soul and I wait excitedly for the movie.
Until.
Until I realize it’s rated A.

Cause my parents totally want to take me for a movie and sit through two hours of something they don’t wanna watch.

I think the real beef lies in the country I live in. Those people in whichever department that regulates the screening contents and which movie is A or not, think that ‘Hey, let’s scrutinize the Hollywood movies and if there’s even a tad violence or making out, we’ll rate it A.’
I really wouldn’t have a problem with this – because I’ll try to see it as an effort to keep us from not watching what is inappropriate.
Except, that these movies you do rate A – they’re taken from Young Adult Novels. YA translating to Adolescents. Teenagers. Aging from 13 to 18. In other words, those who are not adults and not children and are in between.
So, we do know what we’re about to watch cause we’ve already read the books, thank you very much.
But I’ll give in. Okay, you’re really concerned about us and yada yada yada.

Not much worry when you rate almost all Hindi movies an U? Open to the entire public?
Because definitely, that ravenous ‘item’ number is suitable to view. To watch the ‘hero’ and ‘heroine’ make out every five seconds is alright. To see them frolicking in the pouring rain and see through clothes is okay. And allowing me to watch a movie that has at least three deaths, and unaccounted killing, stabbing, shooting will not leave me scarred for him.

Okay, tell me which part of this joke I didn’t get.

Cause I see a little justice due here.

Not that we’re spot on for those.

And then, there are those of you who’d say, “Chill out.” Because by complaining about the A rated movies I do get to watch under the pretext of them being Universal, I’m renouncing the little movies I’m entitled to.
And yes, I might go to watch ‘Yeh Jawani Hai Diwani,’ spill my entire pocket money on it, cry, laugh, sway a little with Ranbir Kapoor’s flirty dialogues and even say that I kind of enjoyed the movie, even though in some ways it was a stereotypical and expected. But that does not mean I accept what these people do.

Because I will be thoroughly disappointed if Divergent is rated A. And I will be flustered if I have to watch it on my computer screen.

Then again.
Very few things stop adolescents from doing the things they wanna do.
The things We wanna do.
Especially letters like A and R.

-Vee

r-rated_sign

Leave a Reply

