Little Things.

Half my summer has kicked me in my stomach and gone by. And I’m here sitting nestled in front of my laptop screen, with slices of mangoes and chilled water to my side. I’m in the mood for monsoons because this heat is killing me. I cannot seem to do anything at all. Can’t play, can’t cycle, can’t hang out, can’t scream, can’t sleep, I can’t even have a nice bath unless the water is like below freezing point!
But this is all the attention you’re gonna get Mr. Heat, because this post is not about you!

None of my summer holidays have been exotic. Actually, I don’t remember when was the last time I left my home town and actually went to another place for a holiday.
And I’m more than just irritated when I know that yet again, I’ll be spending summer, locked in my house, becoming more of a couch potato than I already am, doing absolutely nothing constructive at all. Leave aside constructive, sometimes all I do is let the clock tick and have another day go by.

This summer, however, even though is so similar to it’s sister summers of the past, has a bit of a variation. It’s not much but it’s something.
First of all – Now I’m a teen amateur writer. Which is as cool as it sounds. Spending most of my time daydreaming is not considered a crime anymore. Blogging and typing, reading and understanding, discovering and inventing – that’s what writing has taught me. And I can never give that up even for a stay at Paris.
It helps to be a part of Teens Can Write, Too! who have amazing people with uncanny imagination and the will to write one novel a month, all that inspires me to do my best and be better than what I was yesterday.

About two weeks back, I went to get the groceries. On the trip back, there was not a single cab willing to take me home! In a place that I could not really start on foot, I felt as stranded as a person drifting in an ocean. Only I had much more grocery bags to carry.
Right when I was about to give up, and probably let my face melt with anxiety, a police officer came up to me, asked me if he could help me in anyway, and then ordered the first passing empty cab to take me back home.
Now you see, usually, people don’t really like the police in my country. They consider them second in the hierarchy of corruption.
But my opinion has thus changed.

A lot of times, I have to step out of my house and go do some real work. Sometimes it’s getting stuff from the chemist or bananas from the fruit guy, going to the post office or simply delivering some items from my grandmother who stays with me to her sister, who stays like 30 minutes away.
During this, most of my work is made easier because all I have to do is go to the chemist and show him the prescription, or simple ask the post office guy to help me out.
The most common and likely word I hear during these conversations is “Madam.”
I’m what sixteen?! And they all are so much older than I am. And yet, dignity for them is addressing a small inexperienced girl like me as “Madam,” as in someone equal to them or even higher.
It touches me because no matter how much we think that simple workers like them are insignificant, they are the ones without whom are lives would not be the least livable.
And what are we? Not even a pinch grateful.

Yesterday, when I went out shopping with my mom, after the longest extensive gab ever, I realized no matter how old you become, you’ll never be too old enough to share a lemonade with you mother.
Standing on the footpath, thankfully with evergreen branches spread out to shade us from the sun, with chilled lemonade going down my system, I realized that sometimes even staying in your own town for not only summer, but your entire lives might not be as boring as it seems.

Even the smallest of places have something enormous to offer.
I see and learn, everyday, something that I didn’t know or believe earlier.
I testify for myself the conceptions that others derive. And I know for sure now that one dirty fish in the pond cannot and does not make the entire pond dirty.

thelittlethings

It’s little things like these^, that go unnoticed and unappreciated that helps me grasp that there are so many thinga around us that we haven’t yet discovered just because we are under the notion that seeing the statue of liberty or being on bondi beach is much more interesting.
But you know what? Going to Disney World or walking down the Great Wall of China, will never ever give me the feel of little things like these that I live in everyday and didn’t know existed.

It’s also in little moments like these, that I know for sure we are infinite.

-Vee

One thought on “Little Things.

Leave a Reply

